The Lone Tree

 

Electrified from the fury of the storm
A lone tree stands under attack
No longer will its limbs be able to form

Once so thick and full of life
It’s roots traumatized by the flash
Dug into the ground bound to strife

Dying little tree with just a jolt
Helpless after the fury of the light
The roots have no hope after that bolt

The tree that stood proud now water drunk
Withering away with each passing day
With its bark laying at its trunk

As I was sitting here attempting today’s daily post, I was having trouble finding a direction.  Just when I had backspaced and written and backspaced again, a bolt of lightning struck right outside my window.  It was so loud I can still hear it echoing in my ear.  It hit a beautiful tree that I spend time looking at when gazing out of my window, so this poem is for that tree.  

Daily Prompt: Roots

I'm part of Post A Day 2016;

Leave a Reply

